Not a Ren Faire.

2 Comments

mckellen1I was never a of Shakespeare until I moved to Oregon and got a chance to visit the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland. Contrary to what my friends think, it is not a Renaissance Fair and people are not wandering around in costume quoting Shakespeare to random tourists walking about. It’s also not all about Shakespeare, for several years the festival has highlighted August Wilson plays along with newer playwright’s works such as Jeff Whitty’s, Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler.

I bring this all up because tonight’s Great Performances on PBS features Sir Ian McKellen in King Lear. I will watch just about anything Magneto/Gandalf is in and so should you.

2 thoughts on “Not a Ren Faire.

  1. “People wandering around in costume quoting Shakespeare to random tourists walking about” is quite awesome, I’ve experienced such things when at The Globe Theatre.

  2. I would love to visit the Globe Theatre someday. I wish I could get my friends to see how cool Shakespeare can be. They have very outdated ideas about theatre sadly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.