Doctor Who returns tonight!

1 Comment

davidmorrisey

I almost forgot that the the next Doctor Who special airs tonight on BBC America! This is the Christmas one, starring David Morrissey as a man claiming to be Doctor Who. From the picture it’s obvious that Cybermen play a role in the show, I wish the series would stop coming back to the same characters like the Cyberman and Daleks but I still think this episode will rock.

Speaking of time travel, I just spent the last few days reading The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I don’t know if you’ve read it, but the story is about a man who travels back and forth in time visiting his future wife at various stages in her life. I found so many things wrong with this book. For one thing, it was waaaaay too long, a little editing could have helped the pacing immensely. Another thing that really bothered me was that I was creeped out by the idea of a grown man visiting his future wife at age 6, age 15, etc. The writer tried to make it clear that he was separating his romantic feelings until she was 18, but does that make it any less creepy? Not really, especially when he comes to visit her at 43 and seduces his then 18 year old future wife! Ugh. I had so many problems with this book. I need to find something good to cleanse the ick factor from my brain. Any suggestions?

Here’s a clip from the film version of the book. It starts off with a much older Henry meeting his wife to be at age 6:

One thought on “Doctor Who returns tonight!

  1. Yea! and it’s about {insert rude word here} time, too. Bravo BBCAmerica!
    — Lizaanne
    http://lizaanne42.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment